Little Things

IMG_0307 (1)

First up, I made tiny postcards.  I found retro postcard images online.  I resized them using photoshop and print them out on card stock. I used packing tape to coat the image and give it a nice shiny finish, then cut them out. Almost all of the locations are places I have been or ones that have a special meaning to me.  I left the backs plain since they won’t be seen.

IMG_0312 (1)

My little world traveler needed some books to read. I had bought some pre-made miniature books at Joanne Fabrics.  The book covers were made kind of like how I made the post cards.

 

I found book covers I liked and used photoshop to make them the right size, and then printed them on regular printer paper.  I also had to create the back cover and spine so the books looked more like books. I covered them in packing tape to make them shiny and cut them out.  I glued them on using a glue stick and let them dry under a heavy book.

IMG_4757

The plants are cut from a floral spray I found at a craft store. The pots are wood pots that I painted.  I glued the leaves into the pots, added a little paint for shading, and called them done.  The purple flowers were from the flower spray, just cut down to size.  I will probably go back and add some “dirt” around the base of the leaves. They are living in my other dollhouse project right now, so I may even just make new ones.  Who knows.

IMG_4761

My last mini project is this little sleeping bag. Sometimes my little traveler likes to go hiking and camping. The sleeping bag is functional.  I used nylon fabric for the outside and an old necktie for the inside. The black stitching down the side is to mimic the look of a zipper. It’s all rolled up and ready to head out on its next camping adventure.

Next up will be some of the furniture I’ve made for the trailer so far.

 

2 thoughts on “Little Things

  1. Yay, I found your new site! The work you’ve done so far on the travel trailer looks good! You’ll be my scout. I bought the kit a few years ago but have yet to do more than a clumsy dry fit. Looking forward to watching your progress.

    Like

Leave a Reply

