Bad Pictures

I’ve been using my high tech cell phone camera to capture progress  updates this past week. Technically, it’s a better quality camera than the first digital camera I ever owned, however the pictures still aren’t great. I figured an update didn’t need to be magazine worthy.


Landscaping started this week. I’ve decided it’s about the same as planting an entire yard, one blade of grass at a time, with tweezers. The tall grasses are made from decorative straw brooms. The other ingredients of the landscape include sheet moss, little rocks, very old potpourri, and some tiny dried flowers. 


Next up: I have a tiny miniature Coleman lantern like the one pictured above. Since I took it apart and drilled a hole through it, it’s probably a super rare, one of a kind antique and it’s worth millions of dollars. Please don’t tell me if it is. I’d rather not know.


I wanted it to light up. I took it apart, drilled a hole for the wires, cleaned up the rouge glue and paint, “frosted” the inside of the hurricane, gave it a fresh coat of paint, then added some grunge to it, and finally glued everything back in place. I’m pretty pleased with the way it turned out. You can’t see the details very well, because of the bad pictures, but I’m sure you get the idea. 


Next, where do I hide the battery and switch? Why be conventional? I’ll make a fun stump side table, hollow it out and hide the wires in there. Easy, peasy. 


I should’ve learn by now that nothing is easy peasy with me. After some googling I decided that this table needed to be something that has been collected on my adventurer’s journey. I decided on trying to make a table inspired by tables carved from one large slice of log. I’m starting with one small slice of closet dowel rod. Pretty much the same thing. 


The carving part is going to take forever. One day I’ll learn to just take the easy path.  Oh, you can also see in this picture, the support beams and lashing have finally been installed. It was one of those things that was causing me anxiety because how I thought it should work wasn’t working. Turns out I was overthinking it. It went together quite simply with a little patience and glue. 

There will be plenty of room for the battery inside the table. And the button will be easily accessible. My main lesson on last years build was to not wait until the last minute to add the lighting. Guess who still doesn’t know where she wants to put lights (except for this light, I know where it’s going)? I have at least 2 other lights (I’ll need more though) that I’m still trying to figure out where they are going. This year, to accommodate my poor wire hiding planning, I think I’ll try hiding the batteries and wires inside or behind furniture. Maybe one of these years I’ll be able to plan ahead and wire accordingly. Then again, why be predictable.

4 thoughts on “Bad Pictures

  1. I don’t know how I’ve missed your blog before but I’m glad to have found you. I’m so impressed with your mad skills and inventive solutions. The broom bristles look brilliant as grasses. The whole scene is fab. Um, yeah, those mini Coleman lamps go for a billion quid on Ebay ;0P

    Like

  2. I love how the lamp looks. It’s perfect for the safari look and honestly, what’s the point of having something valuable if its non-functional for you? I also love your carved table, it’s going to look so perfect in the space. Can’t wait to see it finished.

    Like

Leave a Reply

