Quick Progress Update

My neighbors probably think I’m crazy. I spent a portion of the morning burning small sticks and kindling. Sitting on my front porch, holding tiny sticks with tweezers, lighting them on fire, and then placing them in a bowl to catch the ash. Totally normal neighbor behavior. The newest neighbor on the block did a double take when she drove by this morning. Im not sure explaining to her what I was doing will help any…

“Well, you see, I’m creating a dollhouse sized wall tent set in 1950’s Africa and I needed realistic looking ash and burned sticks for the fire pit. The tweezers were so I didn’t burn myself, obviously.” – see totally normal. 


Before I had even started this built I had bought the little black pot. I was planning on hanging it above the fire pit, but it doesn’t hang level. I wouldn’t want any food to spill out on the fire. I don’t like being wasteful when I camp.  I built a little over the campfire grill grate thing (technical term). Now my little adventurer can make something in the pot and something on the grill. It’s made out of thin wire, toothpicks, super glue, a few choice words, and paint. 


Obviously from reading my story above you already know that I had decided that the best way to get authentic looking ash and burned logs was to use authentic ash and burned sticks. Ash was brushed onto the rock ring and around the campfire as well. And I’m calling it done. Another item crossed off the list. Unless I decide something needs to go into the pot. 

I worked on some lighting this week too, but haven’t gotten pictures yet. I’ll take some when I’m done with that part. I also decided I needed a fourth rug for the porch area. Of course it’s the one that gave me the hardest time. Using the dremel to sand the rug caused the threads to pull through making the whole rug bunch up. Then I had to do extra trimming on the front and back to get it to flatten out. I ended up dousing it with starch and ironing it. It’s nice and flat now, it just looks extra well worn. 

After the lighting is installed, the roof goes on, decor goes in, and then I finish landscaping the open side of the tent, then I think I might be done. Crazy. 

3 thoughts on “Quick Progress Update

  1. Now if we had all been laughing while sitting on your porch as you did this, they would just assume we were smoking those tiny sticks. haaaaaaa Every new thing you add looks marvelous! šŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

