The Craftsman Cabin

StateBank_Watermarked.jpg

My beautiful picture

I live in a small town on the East Coast of Florida, minutes away from NASA. The town was established in 1925. In the 1960’s the town had a 1000% population increase thanks to the space program.

c028642

The majority of the town was built during the 1950’s and 60’s and pride in the space program was quite evident. Schools are named after space missions.

roosevel

Our local elementary school has a boilerplate from a Mercury mission proudly displayed in front of the school.

after2-b

Most of the homes and businesses in the area were built during this time. A time noted in history as mid century. My home was built in 1965 and is one of the youngest ones on the block.

92017a

You might be asking yourself, “What does this have to do with the Craftsman Cabin kit for this years HBS Creatin Contest?”. Well, I’m glad you asked. Having been surrounded by mid century architect for years now, I have a really hard time seeing anything craftsman about this kit. Don’t get me wrong, Fran at miniatures.com did an amazing job on her build. It looks very craftsman. However, this just screams mid century to me. Let me give you some examples…

example3

…this is the house we almost bought when we first moved to the area…

IMG_9062

…this is the local fresh seafood market…

example2

…then 2 doors down from the seafood market…

FullSizeRender

…and our neighbors house. These are the ones within just a 1 mile radius of my house. As you can see , I’m surrounded by buildings that rock the asymmetrical peaked roof/flat roof combo built in the mid 1950’s-60’s. That was a really long way to justify why I’ll be going with a more mid century design aesthetic than craftsman. I love mid century design, so it will be a real hardship for me.

IMG_9091

This is where I am so far in the design process. You can see exactly where I’m going, right? I can tell you it won’t be a house. For some reason I have a hard time doing traditional houses. Right now I’m oscillating between 2 ideas that are similar, but have 2 very different uses. When I nail it down I’ll share more. I’m trying to wait until my Hufflepuff embroidery is done. It helps that some of my supplies that I will need to use to get started haven’t arrived yet. They are scheduled to arrive this week though, so I need to get the badger done!

IMG_9090

This is where I left it last night. I learned yesterday that my satin stitch needs a lot of practice. I’m beyond thrilled with how the badger turned out. So, hopefully the person I send it to is too distracted by him to notice the messy satin stitch. Plus, I’ll be framing it,  so it will be harder to see the mistakes *insert evil laugh here*. Well, I’m off to do some more stitching. Have a great day!

 

9 thoughts on “The Craftsman Cabin

  1. Loved reading your design inspiration! I have to agree when researching the style of the kit I thought it looked more like these mid-century homes, so I’m so glad to see you’re taking it there. I can’t wait to read what you have planned since you aren’t doing a traditional home! And the needle work is gorgeous!! : D

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The recipient of the needlepointed badger is very lucky! It is beautiful! Your ideas for the contest kit are very exciting! Please include an attached carport with a 60’s Cadillac! That would be awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

